You are here

Our History

Bubendorff Memorial Grammar School named after one of the great pioneer missionary to Igbo land Rev. Fr. Albert Bubendorff, was built by Adazi-Nnukwu prominent citizens in 1959; and handed over to the catholic missionaries for proper management. Hence the first principal of the school was an Irish priest, Rev. Fr. D.O Mahoney.
Regrettably, the high standards set by the missionaries were cut short by a sudden take-over of the school by the government in 1970. Be that as it may, we are now proud to inform you that B.M.G.S. is now back to the high standards where it once belonged. We are grateful to His Excellency, Mr. Peter Obi who returned B.M.G.S to the Catholic Church on the 15th day of March, 2013.

The succession of principals in the school from inception till government takeover of schools is as follows:
1. Rev. Fr. D. O. Mahony 1959-1961
2. Rev. Fr. Smith 1961-1962
3. Rev. Fr. Macabe 1962-1964
4. Rev. Fr. Ryan 1964-1967
Civil War Period 1967-1970
5. Mr. G .C .Ibekwe 1970-1972